The Week in Rap

Waka Flocka and Gucci Mane

Waka Flocka and Gucci Mane

The ongoing 1017 Bricksquad beef may finally be quieting down. Waka Flocka Flame and Gucci Mane’s twitter beef last week escalated into Flocka stating that he would never do business with Gucci Mane “ever in life” to Rap Fix Live viewers. Flocka Flame is now taking a more subtle approach against the incarcerated Gucci Mane. “We in two paths in our lives. Ain’t no beef, no animosity. It’s just that me and him see two different goals.” Flocka said. “Guess we both be at the finish line we just going our own routes.” While Flocka wouldn’t give an exact reason for the split, he did say “Now it’s time to go back to the essence of music.” Waka will be releasing his third studio album, “Flockaveli 2” as “a fresh artist again” this October.

Also in rap news, Action Bronson will be going on tour with most of this years “Freshmen 10”. The entire group will be preforming in New York City, where the magazine that dubbed them this years star rookies is located. Big K.R.I.T., a former XXL Freshmen, will join Action Bronson for their date in Philadelphia and Bronson, Ab-Soul, and Schoolboy Q will be preforming live in Los Angeles’s Nokia Theater.

Nicki Minaj Sits Down with MTV First

Nicki Minaj Sits Down with MTV First

With one of the most audacious comments in recent memory, Nicki Minaj stated “I am lyrically better than most of the male rappers out there” this week in an interview with MTV First. Minaj, who has a side-gig as a judge on American Idol explained, “This time I care less about the acceptance and more about me being the lyrical, ill bitch that I am. Knowing that I am lyrically better than most of the male rappers out there,” Minaj also stated, “Yes, I’m gonna say it. I don’t get the credit that I deserve.” and admitted “Men run the Hip Hop game, let’s be honest…They not gonna recite a female. They just feel funny and it is what it is.”

Minaj, the most premier female rapper in years, is currently prepping her third studio album, due out later in 2013.

Also this week, The Notorious B.I.G.’s childhood residence is up for sale. The Clinton Hills, Brooklyn apartment 3L on 226 St. James Place is available for purchase. The current inhabitants are asking $725,000 for the former Bed-Stuy apartment. “The tour buses that come by regularly are enough,” listing agent, Judith Leif explained. “I don’t really know yet what impact, if any, [The Notorious B.I.G’s connection] will have on the sale. I think it’ll be notable, but I don’t know if novelty translates to a purchase.”

In more current news, Pittsburgh native, Wiz Khalifa, is suing Its My Party Inc. promotion company for the cancellation of a show on George Mason University’s campus, claiming his reputation with fans was damaged by the lack of a live preformance. Wiz, who alleges he was set to receive $85,000 is now suing for a million. It’s My Party Inc. has fired back though, claiming Khalifa never signed any sort of contract and failed to sellout the 7,000 seat venue. TMZ broke the story and there is no

present word on whether the case will actually be seen in court yet.

Cleveland born rapper, Kid Cudi detailed his recent split from G.O.O.D. Music this past week in an interview on LA’s Power 106. Cudi, whose Dream On imprint interconnected with G.O.O.D. Music, decided to leave because, as he puts it, “I’m very forward-thinking. I’m like, ‘Next year, I want to be doing this.’” Cudi also stated that he’s known he was splitting with the label for at least six months. Mr. Solo Dolo even went to great lengths to solidify the split as a friendly one. “Then I was trying to figure out what the right decision would be…how to talk to him about it. I went through a process where I talked to Don C, and then I went and talked to Jay-Z.” Cudi explained, “I got their opinions about how to approach things that I wanted to talk to him about it. Everybody gave me their blessings on how I was approaching it.” Kid Cudi, who has favored a more experimental rap/rock sound in recent years, is due to release his third solo album, “Indicud”, April 23rd.

As far as the Billboard 200, Justin Timberlake maintained the #1 spot this weekend, selling a 1,287,000 total copies of his third studio album, “20/20 Experience”. The album, which dropped nearly a month ago, beat out Lil’ Wayne’s “I Am Not a Human Being II” in it’s first week, which sold about 217,000 copies compared to Timberlake’s 318,000 this week. Macklemore and Ryan Lewis’s “The Heist” dropped 1 spot, currently sitting at 15. “good kid m.A.A.d city” by Kendrick Lamar dropped 10 spots in it’s 23rd week on the charts with a current position of 35. Also dropping 13 spots to #63 on the charts this week is A$AP Rocky’s “Long.Live.A$AP”, which topped the Billboard 200 11 weeks ago. Drake’s third album, “Take Care”, climbed over 50 spots this week to #75. The former chart-topper is now a mere 2,000 copies away from being certified double platinum. T.I.’s “Trouble Man: Heavy Is The Head” dropped from #70 to #92 in it’s 15th week on the charts while 2 Chainz debut album hung around, but dropped 39 spots, landing at #113. Lastly, The Notorious B.I.G.’s “Greatest Hits” managed to squeak back into the #198 spot, while Frank Ocean’s “Channel Orange” followed suit, dropping into the #199 spot in it’s 38th week.

the Notorious B.I.G.'s Childhood Residence

the Notorious B.I.G.’s Childhood Residence

Leave a Reply

